My Ongoing Arguments with Christianity and Myself

Why I Write

In Uncategorized on April 15, 2009 at 1:13 am

Because Christianity supplies most of my spiritual vocabulary, even if it no longer supplies my creed.

Because Jesus fascinates me, no matter who Christians say he is.

Because I keep coming back to the Bible, even if I seldom pick up and read.

Because America is still overwhelmingly Christian, if the polls mean anything.

Because my favorite Christian bloggers happen to be Baptist, of all things, and I want a way to respond.

Because the Emergent Christianity conversation intrigues me, and I’d like to throw in my two cents.

Because I like to keep up with the excesses of evangelicalism and fundamentalism.

Because I believe Christian spiritual formation can do great things, even if I don’t think it works for the reasons Christians think it works.

Because I hope I haven’t thrown out the baby with the bath water.

Leave a comment