My Ongoing Arguments with Christianity and Myself

New Book: Longing for God

In Uncategorized on April 15, 2009 at 1:36 am

I picked up a copy of Longing for God: Seven Paths of Christian Devotion, Richard Foster’s latest re-categorization of Christian spiritual formation, this time co-written with Gayle Beebe.

I first read Richard Foster in high school. Celebration of Discipline blew me away.  The prayer of Examen planted the seeds of a healthier way of measuring my spiritual progress (or more likely, lack of progress). Centering prayer affirmed what was real and honest in those long quiet moments praying after worship at church camp, and without all the Holy Ghosty melodrama. And study, well, study is about the only spiritual discipline I’ve practiced with any consistency. (Now I mostly practice spiritual undisciplines.)

The chapters center around major Christian figures like Origen and John Wesley.  More posts in reaction as I read though.  And thanks to iMonk for alerting me to the book being out.

Leave a Reply

